2D Fighters and Me

Fighting games, for the most part, are not my thing. Now don’t get me wrong, I love to play fighters. It’s just that I am not very good. At all. With the possible exception of Soul Calibur I am incredibly bad at fighting games, especially 2D fighters such as Marvel vs. Capcom.

One of my friends recently got Marvel vs. Capcom 3 for his birthday and brought it over for us to play. While I have some experience playing Marvel vs. Capcom 2 I think it is safe to say that I am actually worse at MvC3. How this is possible I don’t quite understand. The core gameplay stays mostly the same, and it even includes some simplifications, such as a designated launch button. Sadly, I just cannot wrap my head around this type of game. Too many things are happening on the screen, whether Captain America is flying into the battle or I am leaping 30 feet into the air and pummeling Ryu, the action is constant and frantic.

I mean look at this. I have played the game for several hours and I can barely can tell you what is happening or how any of that stuff is done. I also am not a fan of getting trapped in an infinite combo and then losing. Just doesn’t seem fun to me.

This isn’t to say I didn’t have ANY fun. Almost as a rule when you get a couple of friends together all in the same room and beat up each other in a virtual space you are bound to have a good time. I imagine many enjoy this crazy, over the top, nonstop, character assist frenzy of a game. It just feels like I am missing something. I would honestly enjoy a 1v1 Marvel vs. Capcom game more, or at least Capcom could include it as an additional mode. Sadly that does not exist, so I will have to continue being bad with the hope of eventually one day becoming decent.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

